The cover of the Oct. 12 edition of the Saanich News.

The cover of the Oct. 12 edition of the Saanich News.

8 incumbents, 4 newcomers vie for 9 council seats

List of Saanich mayor and council nominees grows to 12 names

  • Oct. 13, 2011 9:00 a.m.

Though nomination papers will be accepted until 4 p.m. Friday (Oct. 14), and a complete list of candidates running for Saanich council won’t be available until then, it’s expected there will be two people vying for mayor and 10 people jockeying for eight councillor seats.

Incumbent Mayor Frank Leonard and councillors Susan Brice, Judy Brownoff, Paul Gerrard, Dean Murdock, Vicki Sanders and Leif Wergeland had all filed nomination papers as of Wednesday, but Coun. Vic Derman has also announced his intention to run.

Two familiar faces on Saanich councils of the past are also attempting to win seats. Nichola Wade, who was a councillor from 2001 to 2005, is running for council again. And David Cubberley, who was a councillor from 1990-1993 and 1996-2005, will attempt to dethrone Leonard from the seat he’s held since 1996.

Gorge-Tillicum Community Association president Rob Wickson has also started campaigning for a council seat. And this week Gordon Head resident Ingrid Ip filed her nomination papers.

The 53-year-old says she has no political experience but is motivated by how discouraged she is at the state of politics at all levels.